Member Council

The HTI consortium governing body is the Member Council (MC) which is comprised of presidents and deans from member schools. These visionary leaders are committed to a collaborative enterprise whereby they leverage and unite institutional resources to increase the presence of Latina/o faculty and students in the larger landscape of education. They meet at the American Academy of Religion (AAR) and Society of Biblical Literature (SBL) annual meeting to review and approve recommendations from the consortium Steering Committee. HTI acknowledges the dedication, wisdom, and service of the 2017-18 MC members toward increasing and advancing opportunities for Latina/o PhD students and faculty in theological and religious education.

Member Council & Steering Committee Chair

Luis Rivera-Rodríguez

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Academic Dean,
Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary

Council Members

Thomas Shepherd

Director of PhD and ThD Programs, and Professor of New Testament
Andrews University

W.H. Bellinger Jr.

Chair of the Religion Department and W. Marshall and Lulie Craig Professor in Religion
Baylor University

Mary Elizabeth Moore

Dean, School of Theology, Professor of Theology and Education and Codirector of the Center for Practical Theology
Boston University

Newell Williams

President and Professor of Modern and American Church History
Brite Divinity School

Jan Love

Mary Lee Hardin Willard Dean
Professor of Christianity and World Politics
Candler School of Theology at Emory University

Patrick Mason

Dean, School of Arts & Humanities, Associate Professor of Religion, Howard W. Hunter Chair of Mormon Studies
Claremont Graduate University

Kah-Jin Jeffrey Kuan

President and Professor of Hebrew Bible
Claremont School of Theology

Mark. M. Yarbrough

Vice President for Academic Affairs, Academic Dean, Associate Professor of Bible Exposition
Dallas Theological Seminary

Javier Viera

Vice Provost and Dean of the Theological School and Professor of Pastoral Theology
Drew University

L. Gregory Jones

Ruth W. and A. Morris Williams Jr. Professor of Theology and Christian Ministry
Duke Divinity School

Mark Labberton

President and Professor of Preaching
Fuller Theological Seminary

Lallene Rector

President and Associate Professor of Psychology of Religion and Pastoral Psychotherapy
Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary

Uriah Y. Kim

Academic Dean
John Dillenberger Professor of Biblical Studies
Core Doctoral Faculty Member
Graduate Theological Union

David N. Hempton

Dean of the Faculty of Divinity
Alonzo L. McDonald Family Professor of Evangelical Theological Studies
John Lord O’Brian Professor
Harvard Divinity School

Robin J. Steinke

Luther Seminary

James Nieman

Lutheran School of Theology, Chicago

R. Scott Woodward

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean, Director of Masters of Arts in Pastoral Ministry
Oblate School of Theology

Craig C. Hill

Dean and Professor of New Testament
Perkins School of Theology at Southern Methodist University

M. Craig Barnes

President and Professor of Pastoral Ministry
Princeton Theological Seminary

Serene Jones

President and Johnston Family Professor for Religion and Democracy
Union Theological Seminary in the City of New York

David Nirenberg

University of Chicago Divinity School

Peter Casarella

Associate Professor
Interim Director, Latin American/North American Church Concerns
Systematic Theology
World Religions and World Church
University of Notre Dame

Emilie Townes

Dean of the Divinity School, E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Professor of Womanist Ethics and Society
Vanderbilt Divinity School

Margaret Diddams

Provost and Professor of Psychology
Wheaton College