HTI Writers’ Week Participants – January 2023


Ulrike Guthrie

Ulrike (Uli) Guthrie has been editing academic books, dissertations, articles, and papers in religion for 36 years, first for publishing houses like Cambridge University Press and Abingdon Press, and now for individual authors worldwide. She has been working with the HTI since its inception in 1997. Her goal is to help you to make your writing sing and to communicate your ideas clearly to a particular audience. If you stay with HTI, she will also likely accompany you all the way through your dissertation writing. Should you notice dirt under her fingernails, it’s because when not editing, she’s working in her woods, streams, and gardens in Maine, kayaking on nearby lakes, or painting.

Catherine Osborne

Raul Zegarra

Dr. Catherine R. Osborne holds a Ph.D. in theology from Fordham University. A historian of theology and Catholic history, she is the author of American Catholics and the Church of Tomorrow: Building Churches for the Future, 1925-1975 (University of Chicago Press, 2018). She is currently a member of the St. Peter Claver Catholic Worker Community in South Bend, IN, and a freelance editor working with individual scholars and academic presses. 

Dr. Raúl Zegarra is a Peruvian scholar of religion with degrees in philosophy and theology from the Pontifical Catholic University of Peru and the University of Notre Dame, respectively. Dr. Zegarra received his Ph.D. in Theology from The University of Chicago. His passion for obtaining his Ph.D. came from the realization that academic work, with its careful study of the history of ideas and social movements, can become a tool to empower the poor and marginalized in an effort to make our societies more just. He is especially interested in the impact his scholarship can have in his country, Peru, but also among the Latinx community in the USA.

Writers’ Week Scholars

Arelis Benitez

Vanderbilt Divinity School

Patricia Bonilla

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary

Felipe Chamy

Wheaton College

Panayotis (Otis) Coutsoumpos

Claremont Graduate University

Matthew Esquivel

Southern Methodist University

Raquel Feagins

Oblate School of Theology

Chauncey Diego Francisco Handy

Princeton Theological Seminary

Francisco Herrera

Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

Chance Juliano

SMU Perkins School of Theology

Alexandra Rosado-Roman

Vanderbilt University – Graduate Department of Religion

Eddie Rosa Fuentes

Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

Elyssa Salinas-Lazarski

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary

Crystal Silva-McCormick

Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

Gerardo Oudri

Andrews University

Samuel Pagan

Andrews University

Elaine Penagos

Candler School of Theology, Emory University

Luan Henrique Gomes Ribeiro

Harvard University

Jose Santana

Southern Methodist University

Yolanda Michelle Santiago Correa

Southern Methodist University